

For Immediate Release 2016

6XVDQ)ROH\DSSRLQWWHRGS\$QDVNDV)LRXQGDWLRQ3UHVL



The University of Alaska Foundation Board of Trustees and University of Alaska President Jim Johnsen announced today the appointment of Susan Behlke Foley as president of the University Foundation. Foley, an Anchorage-based attorney, brings substantial executive and non-profit leadership to the position. She will join the Foundation on September 6.

"Susan's experience and perspective as a longtime Alaskan with deep experience in philanthropy will be critical for the Foundation's success as we navigate our way through some very challenging fiscal times," said Scott Jepsen, chair of the University of Alaska Foundation Board of Trustees. "We look forward to her leadership."

As a partner in the law firm of Foley, Foley, & Pearson, P.C. for the past 28 years, Foley has helped hundreds of Alaskans recognize the

importance of philanthropy as they plan their estates. A frequent lecturer on all aspects of charitable planning, philanthropy and wealth transfer planning, she has significant teaching and speaking experience.

"I look forward to working with others at the university as I take on this important role at the University Foundation," Foley said. "Alaskans understand the university system is crucial to the future of our state. They agree that education is critical to quality of life, workforce quality and the ability to retain our brightest. Enhanced giving is key if our university is to carry out its critical mission."

Foley has been active in philanthropic and charitable organizations throughout her professional career. She was a long time member of the board of directors of the Alaska Community Foundation and served as that organization's interim CEO and p a B.W. in Etdonomics from WhitmanNColleg e and

from Lewis & Clark Northwestern School of Law. She began her law practice in Fairbanks and moved to Anchorage in 1981.

University of Alaska Foundation | 1815 Bragaw, Suite 206 | Anchorage, Alaska 99508

Foley succeeds Carla Beam, who retired in December 2015 and Interim UA Foundation President Megan Riebe.

University of Alaska Foundation | 1815 Bragaw, Suite 206 | Anchorage, Alaska 99508